Published Standards

SOC assists in the development or revision of technical conservation practice standards for agencies that are their legal custodians.  For the purposes of SOC, the custodians currently include the following:

  • U.S. Department of Agriculture – NRCS (WI)
  • WDNR – Nonpoint Source and Land Management Section

NRCS Agricultural Standards

The Field Office Technical Guide (FOTG) contains the master list of Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) soil and water conservation technical standards for rural Wisconsin. This list is maintained electronically by the USDA NRCS. The technical standards are arranged by alphabetical order in Section IV of the FOTG.

These technical standards primarily focus on agriculture, but with the participation of the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) and the Wisconsin DNR, new areas of interest are being explored.

To find the complete list of Wisconsin NRCS standards, visit the Wisconsin NRCS Technical Resources web page. Click on the FOTG – Field Office Technical Guide, which will bring up the United States map, that looks like the image to the right. Click on Wisconsin, and then select your county.

On that page, select Section IV on the left column and the technical standards will appear alphabetically, under Conservation Practices. At the top of the left column is a search feature where you can search for standards by name or number.

WDNR Urban Standards

The Wisconsin DNR maintains a database of technical standards on their stormwater runoff program webpage.  These technical standards are used to plan, design, install, and maintain erosion/sediment control and storm water management practices to comply with s. NR 151, Wis. Adm. Code.

Technical Standards